The original Corporation Bridge over Alexandra Dock c1910.
A photograph from the Jeff Beedham Collection.
This swing bridge was built in 1872 and was replaced in 1925 with the bridge we still use today.
A policeman makes sure that walkers and cyclists stay behind the safety chain until the bridge swings back in to the closed position.
Note the large ‘Great Central Co-op Engineering & Ship Repairing Co. Ltd.’ workshop on the right.





