J. Duke, ironmonger, Bethlehem Street 1912
Photo1,824of2,343

J. Duke, ironmonger, Bethlehem Street 1912.

GrimsbyHome

An original 1912 photograph by an unknown photographer/publisher.

It must’ve been a wonderful experience to shop there. The decorations are for the visit of King George V and Queen Mary in July 1912. The shop was demolished in the 1967.

Duke’s was one of the Grimsby ironmongers that made the famous ‘Grimsby boxes’ carried by steam train engine drivers everywhere. G. Hildred of Hainton Square and J. H. Dobson of 149/151 Freeman Street were other famous makers.